Minimum Wage by State

The laws regarding minimum wage can be confusing.  Not only does each state set its own minimum wage for workers in the state, but there is also a federal minimum wage.

Under the federal minimum wage law – called the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) – the federal minimum wage for covered nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour.  The FLSA applies to: (a) employees of businesses with annual gross volume of sales of at least $500,000; (b) smaller businesses engaged in interstate commerce or in the production of goods for commerce, such as employees who work in transportation; and (c) employees of federal, state or local government agencies, hospitals and schools, as well as to domestic workers.

In instances where state law requires payment of higher minimum wage than federal law, the higher wage applies.  Below are the state-by-state minimum wage requirements.

 

(Current as of 2018)

Alabama: $7.25

Alaska: $9.84

Arizona: $10.50

Arkansas: $8.50

California: $11.00 for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 for employers with 25 or less employees

Colorado: $10.20

Connecticut: $10.10

Delaware: $8.25

District of Columbia: $13.25

Florida: $8.25

Georgia: $7.25

Hawaii: $10.10

Idaho: $7.25

Illinois: $8.25

Indiana: $7.25

Iowa: $7.25

Kansas: $7.25

Kentucky: $7.25

Louisiana: $7.25

Maine: $10.00

Maryland: $10.10

Massachusetts: $11.00

Michigan: $9.25

Minnesota: $9.65 for large employers; $7.87 for small employers; $7.87 for the 90-day training wage and youth wage

Mississippi: $7.25

Missouri: $7.85

Montana: $8.30

Nebraska: $9.00

Nevada: $8.25

New Hampshire: $7.25

New Jersey: $8.60

New Mexico: TBD

New York: $10.40 for most employers; $13.00 for large employers and $12.00 for small employers in New York City; $11.00 for Long Island and Westchester Counties

North Carolina: $7.25

North Dakota: $7.25

Ohio: $8.30

Oklahoma: $7.25

Oregon: $10.25 standard minimum wage; $11.25 for Portland Metro region; $10.00 for Nonurban Counties

Pennsylvania: $7.25

Puerto Rico: $6.55

Rhode Island: $10.10

South Carolina: $7.25

South Dakota: $8.65

Tennessee: $7.25

Texas: $7.25

Utah: $7.25

Vermont: $10.50

Virginia: $7.25

Washington: $11.50

West Virginia: $8.75

Wisconsin: $7.25

Wyoming: $7.25