This California residential lease agreement covers the essential terms for rentals. It includes terms such as rent amount, the date rent is due, how rent is to be paid, and late fees. It also covers items such as furniture, pets, parking, utilities, subletting and much more. It can be used for renting on a month-to-month basis or for long-term rentals. It also includes the lead-based paint disclosure statement required for housing built before 1978, as well as the informational pamphlet regarding lead-based paint.
Residential Lease Agreement – California
This residential lease agreement is for use by landlords and tenants in the state of California. It can be used for month-to-month rentals or long-term rentals.
Available in MS Word and fillable PDF. 9 pages.
- Rental Amount
- Security Deposits
- Initial Payment
- Subletting or Assigning
- Multiple Occupancy
- Condition of Premises
- Tenant’s Duty to Maintain Premises
- Late Charge/Bad Checks
- Noise and Disruptive Activities
- Compliance with Law
- Landlord’s Right of Entry
- Locks and Keys
- Repairs by Landlord
- Damage to the Leased Premises
- Waterbeds and Appliances
- Dangerous Materials
- Termination of Lease/Rental Agreement
- Condition of Premises Upon Termination of Tenancy
- Sale of Property
- Attorney’s Fees
- Personal Property of Tenant
- Additional Rent
- Report to Credit Agencies
- Governing Law
- Change of Terms
- Megan’s Law
- Additional Terms
- Entire Agreement
Lead Warning Statement
I’m in a state other than California. Can I still use the California Residential Lease Agreement?
The California Residential Lease Agreement references certain laws and statutes specific to California. We suggest that you use a lease agreement tailored to your state.
What amount should I put down for the security deposit in the Agreement?
Under California law, a landlord cannot charge more than two months’ rent for the security deposit if the rental is unfurnished. If the rental is furnished, the landlord cannot charge more than three months’ rent for the security deposit.
Can I ask the tenants for a non-refundable deposit?
No. Non-refundable deposits are not allowed under California law.
Can I charge a service charge if my tenant bounces a check?
Yes. However, the charge cannot be more than $25 for the first bounced check and cannot be more than $35 for each subsequent bounced checks.
Can I charge a late charge if my tenants do not pay the rent on time?
Yes. However, under California law, you can only charge a “reasonable estimate of the amount that the lateness of the payment will cost the landlord.” A common late rent fee is 5% of the rental amount.